Welcome to the homepage of Prof. Julita Vassileva, who served as the NSERC/Cameco Chair of Women in Science and Engineering on the Prairies between September 1, 2005 and August 31, 2011. Dr. Vassileva is Professor in Computer Science at the University of Saskatchewan. Her goal as a Chair was to increase the participation of women in science and engineering and to provide role models for women active in and considering careers in these fields. The Chair was awarded to Dr. Vassileva in September 2005. It was funded by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Council of Canada (NSERC) and Cameco, the Saskatoon based world-largest uranium mining corporation.

There are five regional Chairs across Canada: for the Atlantic provinces, Ontario, Quebec, the Prairie provinces and for BC and Yukon. Each Chair is awarded for five years (and is extendable for another three) and is funded by NSERC and an industiral partner. More information about the program and the current Chairs is available here.
The first Prairie Chair (1997-2002) was Dr. Elizabeth Cannon, Professor of Geomatics, and currently the President of the University of Calgary.
The current Prairie Chair (2011-2016) is Dr. Annemieke Fahrenhorst, Professor of Soil Science at the University of Manitoba.

This website provides information about the activities of the Prof. Vassileva as Chair and links to the continuing projects started by the Chair.